Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_5297You guys, I finally did it!! I made regular, typical, standard, good old-fashioned chocolate chip cookies. No browned butter this time. No special caramel-filled chocolate chips. No toasted coconut, fancy sea salt, pretzels, or Oreos. And you know what? They were amazing. They reminded me that sometimes, you don’t need all the bells and whistles. There’s a reason that chocolate chip cookies are so iconic, holding their place as America’s #1 favorite cookie (at least according to The Huffington Post). I mean, chocolate chip cookies are essentially little balls of flour, sugar, butter, and chocolate…what more do you need?

<Psst…don’t worry; I am only capable of making about one “normal” batch of cookies every five years. Knowing me, browned butter/pretzels/m&ms/caramel bits/the contents of my baking cupboard will be back inside my cookies soon.>IMG_5305

On an entirely different note…I finally did it!! I decided to haul this little blog away from the back burner and onto my plate again. I won’t give you all the excuses I have about being an extremely busy third-year college student trying to balance classes, psychology research, being a resident assistant, and re-training after a long running injury. Oh yeah, and I didn’t have a kitchen of my own during the school year. But if I were to give those excuses, it would end with me apologizing for being M.I.A. for so long and hoping that there are still people out there who love reading recipes for ridiculously soft and chewy chocolate chip cookies. And the occasional quinoa salad…because balance.

As to the future of Emma’s Baking Addiction, we’ll just see how this summer goes. I’ll do my best to keep adding to the blog, but life might take over again in its pesky way. For now, you should at least make a batch of these incredible chocolate chip cookies. The addition of cornstarch makes them soooo soft, and if you’re careful not to over-bake them, they’ll stay soft and chewy for up to a week! My poor brother, who has been begging me to make “regular” chocolate chip cookies for over a year now, will be thrilled to find a box of these in his Montana mailbox. I can’t mail you all cookies, but I really hope you will make them yourself. The fact that I refrained from making a thousand adjustments to this recipe should tell you something….yes, they’re that good. Enjoy! 🙂 IMG_5286

Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yield: 2.5-3 dozen cookies

3/4 cup (1.5 sticks) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature

3/4 cup brown sugar, packed

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg, at room temperature

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons cornstarch

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 & 1/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Using an electric mixer, beat together the butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Mix in the egg and vanilla until combined. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, cornstarch, baking soda, and salt. On low speed or with a wooden spoon, add the flour mixture into the wet ingredients and mix just until combined. Stir in the chocolate chips. Cover the dough with plastic wrap or foil, and chill for at least 1 hour and up to 2 days.

When ready to bake, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or a baking mat. Scoop the chilled cookie dough into 1-tablespoon-sized balls and place on the prepared cookie sheets. Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until edges are set and slightly golden (be careful not to over-bake!). Let the cookies cool on the sheets for 5 minutes before moving to a cooling rack.

Recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction

Leave a Reply

