Taking a Moment…

Today’s post is dedicated to everyone affected by the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School. I had plans to write a bright, cheerful, humorous post as Christmas draws nearer, but it doesn’t feel right after such a devastating event. The pain, shock, and heartache that the people of Newtown, Connecticut are surely feeling right now is unfathomable. My heart goes out to all the families in Newtown who have lost a child, lost a friend, or just borne witness to this horror. It’s tragedies like these that make me so sad about the world and unable to understand how a human being can be capable of such an act. Murder in itself is horrible, but something about the innocence of a child makes it all the more heart-wrenching. We live in a world that isn’t all sunshine and daisies; there is sadness that I can’t even begin to comprehend. It makes me so grateful for all the good things in my life that I often take for granted: a family who loves me, monthly paychecks, free education, a kitchen full of food.

I’d like to press pause on the Christmas festivities, the bustle of everyday life, and take a moment to send kind thoughts to the people of Newtown. The recipes will be back soon, but not today. Give your family members a hug, tell them you love them, and please take a minute to think about this quote:

candle

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.’ To this day, especially in times of ‘disaster,’ I remember my mother’s words, and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world.”          -Fred Rogers

Leave a Reply

