Quick and Easy Pumpkin Bread

Today I’m going to share with you one of my favorite fall recipes.  Every October, my dad and brother start to get excited because they know it’s coming.  I start stocking up on the ingredients I need to make it because it usually makes several appearances throughout the fall months.  It’s great because it can be made in the form of cookies, muffins, or bread, with no changes except for the baking time and type of pan.  I’m sure that it will be no surprise to hear that this recipe is for….drumroll please…PUMPKIN BREAD!

I know, I know, all that build-up for something as simple and generic as pumpkin bread.  I’m sure you all thought that I had some super-fancy-knock-your-socks-off recipe for an amazing dessert that no one has ever heard of, but nope.  Not the case.  (Not that you didn’t already know that this post is about pumpkin bread, given the title and gigantic picture at the top…)

But don’t run away, because I was serious when I said that this is one of my favorites.  Big time.  Mainly because this bread turns out perfectly spiced, super moist, and ultimately delicious every time.  And like I said before, the same exact batter can be made into cookies or muffins, if you so desire.  It’s just like magic, kinda sorta.  There are so many good things going on with this bread that I hate to tell you the list of ingredients that it requires.  Such a wonderful bread must have some catch, right?  So please be willing to keep an open mind as I list off all the ingredients you must have to make this piece of food art:

1 can of pumpkin.  1 box of spice cake mix.

Honestly.  It’s that easy.  And I won’t lie and say that it’s better than your Grandma’s famous homemade pumpkin bread or the secret recipe for pumpkin cookies that’s been passed down in your family for generations or whatever, but it’s prettttty darn good.  Good enough to make multiple times in a single month, get raving reviews every time, and make an eighteen-year-old brother squeal like a little girl.  If that doesn’t sell you on it, I don’t know what will.

Quick and Easy Pumpkin Bread

1 15-oz can pumpkin puree

1 box spice cake mix

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease an 8″x4″ loaf pan.

Combine pumpkin and cake mix in a large bowl.  Spread batter into the prepared pan and bake for 50-60 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.  Let the bread cool in its pan for 15 minutes.

Run a knife along the edges of the bread, and invert onto a wire cooling rack.  Cool completely before slicing.  Serve plain or with whipped cream for an especially delicious treat.

Pumpkin Cookies variation: 

Prepare as above, except form the dough into balls and place on lined or lightly greased cookie sheets.  Bake for 8-10 minutes or until tops bounce back when lightly touched.

Pumpkin Muffins variation:

Prepare as above, except scoop the batter into lined muffin tins.  These really won’t rise, so you can fill them almost all the way.  Bake for 22-25 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.  Makes 18-24 muffins.

More Variations:

I’ve made this recipe using carrot cake mix instead of spice, and it turns out great as well.  Add in 2 cups of dark chocolate chips if you’re feeling especially naughty.

 

Leave a Reply

