Pumpkin Snickerdoodle Bars

As I’ve said before, fall is my favorite season.  Beautiful leaves are falling, gigantic local apples are showing up at the grocery store, there’s a crisp chill in the air, and best of all I get to do fall baking!  September is usually my apple-baking month, and in October it’s all about pumpkin.  Unfortunately, ever since reading an article about a possible pumpkin shortage last year, I’ve become just a little paranoid that one of these autumns, my grocery store will run out of canned pumpkin.  Being a completely devoted holiday/seasonal person, this would be as atrocious an ordeal as the time I ordered Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer on Netflix and it didn’t come until after New Year’s.  I still haven’t fully recovered from that one, and now I put all of my favorite Christmas movies on the Netflix queue well before Thanksgiving!  Yes, I have issues….

Anyway, around mid-September I gave in to my paranoia and start stocking up on canned pumpkin.  It usually just hangs out in my cupboard until early October, but this year I just couldn’t wait.  It was begging to be baked into something delicious, and who was I to say no?  I decided to do a little experimenting, and created these Pumpkin Snickerdoodle Bars, which are basically everything wonderful about fall baked into a bar.  They’ve got pumpkin, brown sugar, warm spices, and a crinkly cinnamon-sugar topping.  Also, these bars are quick to make, easy to transport, and yield quite a few, so I’m thinking they’d be perfect to bring to a larger gathering or Halloween party.  On the other hand, you could just hoard all the bars and eat them yourself.  I promise I won’t judge if you decide to go that route!

Pumpkin Snickerdoodle Bars

2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp allspice

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp ginger

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

2 cups light brown sugar, packed

2 large eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

Cinnamon-sugar topping:

2 Tbs granulated sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease a 9×13 baking pan and set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and ginger.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, beat together the butter, pumpkin puree, and brown sugar until smooth.  Add in the eggs one at a time, beating until well-combined.  Beat in the vanilla.  Gradually add in the flour mixture, stirring just until incorporated.

Spread the mixture into the prepared pan (batter will be thick).  In a small bowl, combine granulated sugar and cinnamon and evenly sprinkle over the batter.  Bake for 25-30 minutes or until top is set and edges are golden-brown.  Let cool completely before cutting into bars.

Yield: 24-36 bars (depending on how large you cut them)

One thought on “Pumpkin Snickerdoodle Bars

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin-Chocolate Chip Bars | Emma's Baking Addiction

Leave a Reply

