Baked Apple Chips

I have a secret.  Well, not exactly a secret if you spend five minutes in the kitchen with me, but one that the average person doesn’t know about me.  And it is called, I suck as slicing.  And cutting.  And anything that involves creating uniformly-thick pieces of, well, anything.  My dad makes fun of my cheese slices, which are thick and slab-like at one end and paper-thin at the other.  My brother makes fun of my bread slices, which are usually short and stubby because my knife comes down at an angle and never makes it through the entire loaf.  By now you’re probably wondering what business I have writing a food blog.  Seriously, someone who is scared of pie crust and can’t cut carrot slices to save her life?  Writing a blog about cooking?  But whatever, we don’t live in a logical world.  If we did, nap time would be for high school kids instead of kindergarteners, Pringle jars would actually be big enough to fit your hand into, and the fear of long words would not be called hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia.  Moving on…

My point is to not be deceived by the pictures of these apple chips.  Although they are uneven, cut through in some places, and far from picture-perfect, they still taste delicious.  And they are easy, healthy, and make your house smell like cinnamony fall goodness.  There’s nothing not to like.  Aaand there will be even less than nothing not to like when you make these yourselves, and your slices turn out round and beautiful and even.  In the meantime, I’ll just keep practicing my slicing, and maybe someday things will improve.  If I make these apple chips as many times as I intend to, since they’re that good, I’m sure I’ll be cutting like a human mandoline in absolutely no time at all.  Probably around the time that pigs fly. 🙂

Baked Apple Chips

2 large apples (any variety)

2 tsp cinnamon

Optional: 1/4 tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, and/or 1/4 tsp ground cloves

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 275 degrees F.  Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper or a baking mat.  Core both of the apples and slice them very thinly into discs.  Lay apple slices onto baking sheets, and bake for 1 hour.  Flip apples and bake for another 30-60 minutes, or until apples are slightly crisp and the edges begin to curl.  Bake time will depend on the thickness of your slices and the juiciness of your apples.

One thought on “Baked Apple Chips

  1. Pingback: Healthy Oatmeal Cookies | Emma's Baking Addiction

Leave a Reply

