Biscoff Oatmeal Cookies

Remember last month when I posted my delicious creation of Biscoff-Swirled Banana Bread?  And you were so inspired that you went right to the grocery store (or online, if you’re like me and live in a ridiculously small town with a grocery store the size of a thimble) and bought yourself a nice jar of Biscoff Cookie Spread?  And then you went right to work and baked up a beautiful loaf of that delicious bread?  If you have no memory of this, I’m sure you’ll remember it soon….*hint hint*  Anyway, just like the little girl from Poltergeist (if you’re a 90s kid like me and actually watched those movies) would say, it’s baaaaack….

Biscoff, that is!  I had completely forgotten that when I made the genius decision of investing in my now-beloved Biscoff spread, I had ordered not one, but two jars.  And one of them had gotten pushed farther and farther back into my mess of a baking cupboard, only to be remembered, well, last week.  I was so excited when I spied this long-forgotten-better-than-peanut-butter treasure that I just had to bake something with Biscoff in it to celebrate.  Which brings me to these Biscoff Oatmeal Cookies.  I was tempted to pep them up with a cup of cinnamon chips or raisins, but I restrained myself.  The recipe promised that keeping them on the plain side would be for the better, and I’d have to agree.  These cookies ended up with a perfectly crisp exterior and a wonderful chewy interior, just like the best kind of oatmeal cookies.  But they were even better, because of that great Biscoff taste!  No add-ins were needed, just the perfect simplicity of oatmeal and Biscoff to work their magic.  Yum.

 

 

 

 

 

Biscoff Oatmeal Cookies

1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats

1/2 cup + 2 Tbs all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup Biscoff Spread

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed

1 large egg

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together the oats, flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, beat together butter, Biscoff, and sugars until smooth and creamy.  Add in the egg and vanilla extract and beat until well-combined.

Slowly stir in the oat mixture, mixing just until combined.  Chill the dough in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or a baking mat.  Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto prepared sheets and bake for 8-10 minutes, until edges are golden.*  Let cookies cool on the sheets for 5 minutes before removing to a cooling rack.

*Note: Be careful not to over-bake this cookies.  They’ll look puffy and slightly underdone after 8-10 minutes, but they’ll flatten up as they cool and will be chewy with crisp edges.  That said, if you like crunchy cookies, let them bake for a couple extra minutes 🙂

Cookie thief sighting!!

(Recipe adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod)

Leave a Reply

