Apple-Cinnamon Chip Muffins

Once upon a time, I baked a batch of apple-cinnamon chip muffins, which were moist, delicious, and even on the healthier end of the spectrum.  Pans were washed, pictures were taken, and the rest of my family was given the okay to scarf them all down.  Unfortunately, the next step, which was to post them to my blog, did not happen.  At least not until now.  For the last few days, I’ve been plagued with a case of writer’s block.  I don’t know where it came from, but it might have something to do with my ridiculous load of school, homework, social obligations, weekend trips, jobs, exercise, college planning, and a head cold.  Oh yeah, and I’ve been trying to fit sleep in there, too.  Sadly, my poor little blog has been pushed to the bottom of my priority list.  Sorry, sorry.  But don’t worry, because now I’m digging it back out from the pit of procrastination!

Well, that’s enough moaning and groaning.  I’m sure my busy senior-year life isn’t exactly the most entertaining of topics, so I’d better stop complaining right now or I’m going to lose followers.  No more ranting.  Unless it’s ranting about how awesome these muffins are!  Remember them?  After all, they are supposed to be the subject of this post…they’re wonderful fall-themed muffins bursting with apple chunks and cinnamon chips (which you can usually find in Target, but are also available on Amazon.com).  Bake ’em, eat ’em, enjoy ’em.  The end.

Gosh, that was probably the worst blog post like, ever.  But I did tell you that I have writer’s block! 😉

Apple-Cinnamon Chip Muffins

2 cups peeled, diced apples

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 large egg, beaten

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup cinnamon chips (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Grease a 12-cup muffin tin or fill with paper liners.

Toss apples with brown sugar; set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flours, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Make a well in the center and pour in the egg, applesauce, and vanilla.  Fold the wet ingredients into the flour mixture, stirring just until incorporated.

Fold in the apple mixture and cinnamon chips.  Spoon batter into prepared muffin tins and bake for 25-30 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.  Let the muffins cool for 5 minutes in the pan before removing to a wire rack.

Yield: 12 muffins

(Recipe adapted from Food.com)

Leave a Reply

