Blueberry-Lemon Buttermilk Bundt Cake

The third week of August is, without fail, a crazy week.  Summer job schedules are full-force, our county fair takes place, summer schoolwork is uncovered from the depths of procrastination, spending time with my horse is squeezed in whenever possible, and my birthday falls on the 15th.  No matter how much I try to plan ahead and get things done in July, that end-of-the-summer rush inevitably arrives right around now.  This year was no exception!

Luckily, although I took a raincheck on entering baked-goods in the fair this year, I still had time to bake myself a birthday cake.  I’m all about prioritizing when times get busy…should I wash my car, which is currently covered in a quarter-inch thick coating of dust, or sit outside in the sun?  Get started on my English homework, or go for a run in the forest?  Change my sheets, or watch an episode of Desperate Housewives?  Responsibly, I picked the latter of all these tough decisions.  Yep, I definitely have my priorities straight!  So when it came to baking a birthday cake or giving my bathroom a much-needed cleaning, there was really no question.  As for what I decided, this post should clue you in…..

After much debate, I finally settled on making this Blueberry-Lemon Buttermilk Bundt Cake.  I usually go for a more traditional, 2-tier, buttercream-frosted birthday cake, but there was something about the combination of plump blueberries, fresh lemon zest, and tangy buttermilk that I couldn’t resist.  And I’m so glad I didn’t!  I couldn’t be happier with my decision.  The result was an incredibly moist, lemony Bundt cake studded with sweet, juicy blueberries and topped with a tart-sweet lemon and buttermilk icing.  It was the perfect end to a wonderful birthday…my eighteenth!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Blueberry-Lemon Buttermilk Bundt Cake

Cake:

2 1/2 cups + 2 Tbs all-purpose flour, divided

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 3/4 cups granulated sugar

Zest of 1 lemon

1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

3 eggs, at room temperature

1 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup buttermilk

3 cups fresh or unthawed frozen blueberries

Lemon-Buttermilk Icing:

2 cups powdered sugar

1 Tbs buttermilk

1-2 Tbs fresh lemon juice

1 Tbs unsalted butter, very soft

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.  Grease and flour a 10-cup Bundt pan.  Set aside.

In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together 2 1/2 cups of flour, the baking powder, and the salt.  Set aside.

Place the sugar and lemon zest into a large bowl.  Using your fingers, rub the lemon zest into the sugar until evenly combined.  Add in the butter and, using an electric mixer on medium speed, beat until light and fluffy.

Add in the eggs one at a time, beating on low speed after each addition.  Add in the vanilla and mix until combined.

Still on low speed, add in 1/3 of the flour mixture and mix just until flour is incorporated. Add in half the buttermilk, then another third of the flour, the other half of the buttermilk, and the last third of the flour, beating after each addition.

In another bowl, toss the blueberries with the 2 tablespoons of flour.  Using a rubber spatula, gently fold the blueberries into the batter.  Spread the batter evenly into the Bundt pan, smoothing the top.

Bake for 55-60 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.  Let the cake cool in its pan on a wire rack for 30 minutes before removing from pan to cool completely.

When cake is completely cool, whisk together the powdered sugar, buttermilk, lemon juice, and butter until smooth.  For a thinner glaze, mix in additional buttermilk or lemon juice 1 teaspoon at a time or until it reaches your desired consistency.  Spoon the icing over the cake using a knife or offset spatula, spreading it downward every now and then.

Store the cake at room temperature, loosely covered in plastic wrap, for up to 4 days.

(Recipe adapted from Brown Eyed Baker, originally from Smitten Kitchen)

Leave a Reply

