Biscoff White Chocolate Chip Blondies

As a twin, I often fall victim to embarrassing stories, since my brother and I grew up virtually side-by-side and witnessed many of each other’s most awkward, shameful moments of life.  There is one particular story that my brother loves to tell, one that he deems effective in illustrating his sister’s uncanny ability to make herself look like a complete whack job in public.

Growing up, I got to experience lots of airplane rides.  My grandparents lived in Michigan, and we regularly visited them from our home in Colorado.  When my family moved to Washington State in 2003, we regularly frequented all three states via flying.  One summer my mom, brother, and I took a trip to Michigan to visit my grandparents.  In this particular instance we were flying back home, and the seatbelt sign had just clicked off.  The Delta flight attendant came around, handing out Biscoff cookies and drinks.  I asked for my favorite, cranberry juice, which I had also had on our eastbound flight earlier in the week.  She poured my drink into one of those cute little plastic cups and moved along down the aisle.

I took a few sips, but noticed that my juice had a strange, different taste than usual.  Something just didn’t seem right.  Naturally, to my 9-year-old mind, the next step would be to inspect it more closely, making sure that this beverage was indeed the cranberry juice I had requested.  I bent down over the red liquid and took a little sniff, trying to detect any foreign scent.  Unfortunately, the plane hit a little pocket of air and bumped up a bit, and I ended up with a nose full of juice!  I immediately started spluttering and sniffling, and heads turned as I blew a stream of cranberry juice from my nose into my napkin.  For a good ten minutes I kept sniffing and snuffling, trying to empty my sinuses of (carbonated!) juice and all the while keeping my brother in a state of euphoria as he humored himself with my skills at making a fool of myself.

For years, Sam loved bringing up that plane ride, saying “Emma, tell about that flight when you ordered cranberry juice.”  I would defensively begin with, “Well, there I was, sniffing my cranberry juice,” and my brother would start cracking up.  Unjustly so, because it was only natural for me to be a bit suspicious of that juice.  Which, it turned out, was not the cranberry cocktail I had ordered but cranberry apple juice.  This incident was nothing to laugh about.  It was simply the result of an unusually observant individual (namely, me) who had fallen victim to the unlucky combination of airline beverages and turbulence.

I promise I have a point.  I’m sure that what most stuck out at you through that analogy was the mention of Biscoff cookies.  Right?  Right.  I always enjoy those crispy, cinnamon-graham-cracker-crossed-with-a-gingersnap tasting cookies that seem to only appear on airplanes.  Recently it seems that Nutella, which for a while was the “new” peanut butter in  food blog recipes, has been replaced by Biscoff Spread.  Biscoff Spread has the consistency of peanut butter but tastes exactly like those delicious Biscoff cookies!  It can be easily substituted for peanut butter in almost any recipe, and if you can’t find it at your nearest grocery store you can always order it from Amazon or Biscoff’s website.  It gives baked goods a wonderful warm, cinnamony, cookie-like flavor.  Take these Biscoff White Chocolate Chip Blondies, for example.

These blondies are a great way to incorporate Biscoff Spread into your baking.  Brown sugar and butter are melted together, giving these bars a chewy texture and caramel-like flavor which, combined with the Biscoff Spread and white chocolate, make for one delicious blondie.  They’re fast, easy, and adaptable–you could easily substitute in a different type of chocolate, add nuts, or even use peanut butter instead of the Biscoff.  I highly recommend investing in a jar or two of Biscoff Spread and treating yourself to these Biscoff Spread Blondies!


 

 

 

 

 

Biscoff White Chocolate Chip Blondies

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter

1 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup Biscoff Spread

1 large egg

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease an 8×8 inch pan and set aside.

In a saucepan over medium heat, melt butter and brown sugar, stirring constantly, until smooth.  Remove from heat and stir in Biscoff Spread until mixture is creamy.  Let cool.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Set aside.

Add the egg to the cooled Biscoff mixture and stir until smooth.  Add in vanilla extract.  Pour the mixture into the dry ingredients and stir until well-combined.  Stir in white chocolate chips.

Spread the batter evenly into the prepared pan.  Bake for 25-30 minutes or until top is set, edges are beginning to brown, and an inserted toothpick comes out clean.  Remove from oven and allow to cool completely before slicing.  Makes 12-16 bars.

(Recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod)

One thought on “Biscoff White Chocolate Chip Blondies

  1. Pingback: Biscoff Swirled Banana Bread | emmasbakingaddiction

Leave a Reply

