Fluffy Vanilla Cupcakes for Two…and Happy Birthday to Emma’s Baking Addiction!

IMG_4339

Exactly one year ago I sat down at the computer, created a WordPress account, set up a very simply formatted blog, and posted my very first recipe…Deceptively Simple Peanut Butter Cookies. As an avid blog-reader myself (and an avid baker!) I had been toying around with the idea of starting my own blog for quite some time, but never really got around to it. Then on a lazy summer day, as I was racking my brain for something to do, I decided once and for all to just go for it and start a blog. I had nothing to lose…basic WordPress blogs are free, after all, and the worst that could happen is that no one (except my parents, of course) would read it.

One year later, my little blog is still chugging along. It’s still pretty basic, far from high-tech and fancy, but my stats tell me that there are at least a handful of people out there reading it other than my mom and dad! Since the whole point of my blog is to experiment with baking, writing, blogging, and photography, simply sticking with it for an entire year equals success in my mind.

To celebrate, I decided to make a little birthday cake for Emma’s Baking Addiction. I didn’t want a huge cake or an entire batch of cupcakes hanging around since our house is still loaded up with pastries from Father’s Day and some very delicious bars which will be coming soon to the blog, so this recipe was absolutely perfect! It makes TWO perfectly sweet, soft, fluffy, vanilla-y cupcakes. No more, no less. A bowl, a spoon, a very short list of ingredients, and 15 minutes are all you need to bake up these little treats. They can easily be adapted by adding in chocolate chips, nuts, fruit, spices, etc. and they can be frosted or glazed however you wish to add a little excitement. To me, there’s nothing not to like about a simple vanilla cupcake topped with simple vanilla buttercream, so that’s what I went for. Just pure, sweet vanilla flavor in both the soft, fluffy cupcake and smooth, creamy frosting.

IMG_4335

Happy First Birthday, Emma’s Baking Addiction!

IMG_4338

Fluffy Vanilla Cupcakes for Two

Vanilla Cupcakes:

2 tablespoons granulated sugar

1 egg white

2 tablespoons butter, melted

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

Pinch of salt

1 & 1/2 tablespoons milk

Easy Vanilla Buttercream:

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup powdered sugar (more or less to taste)

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 tablespoon heavy cream or milk

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Place two paper liners on opposite sides of a 6-cup muffin tin; set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk together the sugar and egg white. Whisk in the melted butter and vanilla until smooth. Using a spoon, stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt until combined. Stir in the milk and mix until batter is smooth.

Divide the batter evenly among the two muffin cups and bake for 12-14 minutes, or until the tops of the cupcakes bounce back when touched and an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Let cupcakes cool completely before frosting.

For the frosting, beat the softened butter in a small bowl with an electric mixer until creamy. Mix in the vanilla. Gradually beat in the powdered sugar, followed by the heavy cream. If the frosting is too stiff, add in a little more cream or milk. If it’s too thin, add in more powdered sugar. When desired consistency is reached, spread the frosting onto the cooled cupcakes and serve.

IMG_4340

(Cupcake recipe from How Sweet It Is, frosting recipe from Emma’s Baking Addiction)

5 thoughts on “Fluffy Vanilla Cupcakes for Two…and Happy Birthday to Emma’s Baking Addiction!

  1. I just found your blog two days ago and I know i’m a fan already. Thanks for the great recipes, and happy birthday!
    ~ang

Leave a Reply

