Dark Chocolate Coconut Flour Cookies (Gluten-free!)

IMG_3869

Last weekend I got a chance to use up some of the oat flour that was sitting around in my pantry, but that still left several opened bags of other gluten-free flours: sorghum, tapioca, and coconut. The avid coconut-lover in me resulted in coconut flour being selected as the next flour up to bat, and I baked it into these fabulous Chocolate Coconut Flour Cookies.

Made with dark, rich cocoa powder, coconut sugar (if you can find it), and of course coconut flour, these were one of the best gluten-free cookies I’ve ever made. The coconut flour (which smells amazing, by the way), has a super-cool thickening quality that allows it to soak up moisture in batters, doughs, etc. and create a wonderfully soft, chewy product. These cookies are indeed dense, chewy, rich, and packed with dark chocolate flavor. Just like the best kind of brownie, but in cookie form. The coconut flavor is more subtle, but with a sprinkle of shredded coconut on top and the use of coconut sugar in the dough, the cookies get a perfect hint of tropical coconut flavor.

IMG_3872

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you happen to have any coconut flour hanging around your pantry, make these chocolatey coconut cookies! Heck, even if you don’t have any coconut flour, run to the store and buy a bag, because you don’t want to miss out on this recipe. Dark chocolate + coconut is truly a match made in heaven. A heavenly combination that is then baked into soft, chewy, rich, brownie-like cookies. Are you sold yet? Ready to bake? Good.

….on a completely unrelated note, someone super cute climbed into my soft box to have her portraits taken. Either that or to scarf down a few stray cookie crumbs. You know, considering that this little dog is the most food-obsessed being I have yet to encounter in my 18.75 years of life, I’m taking a wild guess that it was the latter!

IMG_3864

Dark Chocolate Coconut Flour Cookies

Makes about 18 cookies

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter, softened (I used Earth Balance vegan margarine sticks)

3/4 cup coconut sugar (or granulated sugar)

2 medium eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 cup cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark)

1/4 cup coconut flour

1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional)

1 Tbs unsweetened shredded coconut

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone mats and set aside.

In a large bowl, use an electric mixer to cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl as needed. Beat in the vanilla and mix until smooth.

In a smaller bowl, whisk together the cocoa and coconut flour. Stir the dry ingredients into the butter/sugar mixture just until combined. Stir in chocolate chips if desired. The batter will be quite thin. Let the batter sit for 5 minutes so that the coconut flour can absorb the liquid and thicken.

Drop the dough (which will be sticky) by rounded teaspoonfuls on the lined cookie sheets, leaving 2 inches between each cookie. Sprinkle each ball with shredded coconut and bake for 13-15 minutes or until cookies are just set. Let the cookies cool for 5 minutes on the sheets before transferring to a wire cooling rack.

(Recipe adapted from Whole Foods)

8 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Coconut Flour Cookies (Gluten-free!)

  1. YUM! My 10 year old made these for her daddy for Father’s Day. She did cookies and mini muffins. Both are really good. The cookies are like a cake cookie with crispy edges and the muffins are like brownies :))) She added pecans to the tops of some and they are REALLY good. Subbed maple syrup for the sweetener.

  2. Sooo, we made these again and they were COMPLETELY awesome! I had a birthday party to throw so I added one thing and came up with some crazy brownies that we used as a cake. For a 9×13 baking dish I tripled your recipe and added 2 1/2 tsp. of coconut oil. We used the choco chips too :). I didn’t do the coconut since I was frosting them. Baked at 350 for about 35 minutes. The edges were the PERFECT brownie edges! Firm, but still had a chewiness to them. This is my FAVORITE Paleo dessert I’ve had. Our fam has been Paleo since January 1st this year and have had many parties, this was by far the best treat we’ve made! I have been through a bunch trying to find good ones :)

    • I baked ours in a glass dish with parchment paper. Came out perfect. Better than any brownie I can remember before Paleo if I really think about it. There might be one other that I can think of, but that’s it and we are brownie lovers, especially of the corners and edges!

      • Bianca, I’m so glad that these were a hit! I love how they really don’t taste “healthy” at all, and it’s good to know that they made such great brownies. I know how it can be hard to find just the right Paleo/gf recipe, so that’s awesome that this one worked so well for you!

  3. These are phenomenal and strongly reminiscent of brownies! ;) My two-year-old son and I have dozens of food allergies to work around, so I look long and hard for good recipes that work around our restrictions, are healthy, and still taste decadent. :) This is one of those recipes! I subbed coconut oil for the butter and date sugar for the coconut sugar (only because that’s what I had on hand). I threw in cacao nibs instead of chocolate chips too. My husband absolutely loved them, and I can’t stop eating them. Thank you for this fabulous treat!

Leave a Reply

