Biscoff Swirled Banana Bread

I’ve discovered that some foods, while delicious on their own, are about 10,000 times better when they are combined together.  Peanut butter and jelly, coconut and lime, raspberry and white chocolate, blueberry and lemon, chocolate and peanut butter, mint and chocolate, apple and cinnamon, the list goes on and on.  Literally on and on, as in I’m still thinking of more delicious combinations and I’d better stop right now or I’m going to lose readers because this post is going to consist entirely of my favorite flavor combinations and nothing else.  Moving on….

When I invested in a few jars of Biscoff Spread last month, I immediately began brainstorming ways of how to incorporate it into my baking.  I had to think quickly because I knew that if I didn’t act quickly, both jars would fall prey to being spread onto apples and graham crackers, stuffed into sandwiches, and eaten by the spoonful, thus my baking projects would be sadly void of Biscoff Spread.  I couldn’t let that happen, so I decided to start off with Biscoff White Chocolate Chip Blondies, which were a winning choice for sure.

Then the question came of what to make next with my beloved new friend…cookies?  Cupcakes?  And then it came to me, as I spied a bunch of ripe bananas sitting on the counter.  I just knew that Biscoff and bananas were meant to be together, and it was up to me to make that happen.  I had been planning on making Buttermilk Banana Bread (see link below) for quite some time, since it appeared to be different than any banana breads I’ve made in the past.  While I’ve always been a big proponent for classic dense, moist, dark-flecked banana bread, this bread looked invitingly light in color and texture.  The perfect vehicle to be swirled with sweet, cinnamony Biscoff Spread.

Proud of my newfound food matchmaking skills, I got right to work.  I hid 3 bananas in my baking cupboard (there was absolutely no chance that they would survive to the point of over-ripeness while lying in plain sight on the counter), picked up some buttermilk at the store, and waited until my bananas were nice and brown.  Then I mixed up the banana bread batter, swirled in the Biscoff, and baked it up.  The result?  I think I’ve found a new favorite combination…Biscoff and banana :)  The tender, moist bread was bursting with banana flavor and the gooey ribbon of warm, spicy-sweet Biscoff took it up to another level.  This bread confirmed it; banana and Biscoff are most definitely soul mates!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Biscoff Swirled Banana Bread

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened

1 cup white sugar

2 large eggs

1 1/2 cups mashed bananas (about 3 large or 4 medium bananas)

1/4 cup buttermilk

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/8 tsp baking soda

1/3 cup Biscoff cookie spread

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease and flour a large loaf pan (9.25″ x 5.25″).  Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add in the eggs, mashed bananas, buttermilk, and vanilla and beat until well-combined.  Stir in the flour, baking powder, salt, and baking soda until the batter is evenly mixed.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan.  Drop the Biscoff Spread by spoonfuls onto the batter.  Using a knife, gently swirl in the Biscoff to create a marbled effect, but be careful not to mix it in too much.  Bake for 50-60 minutes or toothpick comes out clean.

Let the bread cool in its pan for at least 20 minutes before inverting onto a wire rack.  Cool, slice, and enjoy!

(Recipe adapted from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe)

One thought on “Biscoff Swirled Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Biscoff Oatmeal Cookies | Emma's Baking Addiction

Leave a Reply

