Dark Chocolate Chip Scones

Both of my parents are teachers, which means that several times a year there are events such as staff birthdays, holiday parties, and teacher appreciation brunches which require  that some teachers sign up to supply refreshments.  Since our family of four can only consume so many baked goods, and since I love an excuse to bake, I always volunteer to whip up something sweet for such events.

This spring my mom informed me that she had to bring in a baked good for the annual Parent Volunteer Tea, which I took to mean that should bring in a baked good for the tea! I knew that the party would be held at 9:00 in the morning, so I wanted to bake some sort of breakfast/brunch item rather than my usual go-to cookies, brownies, or cake.

I had recently decided that I needed more scones in my life, but had always been a little intimidated by the shaping process that I assumed would require lots of folding, lots of flour, and lots of clean-up.  However, I bit the bullet and made these scones anyway, and boy was I surprised!  They were one of the simplest recipes I’ve ever made, using a single bowl and a spoon instead of a mixer.  Don’t let the short list of ingredients throw you off: the base of the scones is simple, not too sweet, and perfectly tender, with rich dark chocolate chips studded throughout.  They only took a few minutes to mix up, and the shaping took no time at all.  I hate to think about all the times I passed up making scones in the past!  Now that I’ve come to my senses, I know that these will be a repeat at our house for sure. :)

Dark Chocolate Chip Scones

3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup granulated sugar

4 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 cups dark chocolate chips

2 cups chilled whipping cream

Optional: 2 Tbs melted butter and sugar for sprinkling

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  In a large bowl, stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Stir in chocolate chips. Pour in cream and mix just until moistened.  Turn out dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead gently until a soft dough is formed.  Divide dough into 3 equal balls.  Pat each ball into a 7-inch disc and cut into eighths.* Place triangles onto lightly greased cookie sheets, about 2 inches apart.  Optional: brush scones with melted butter and sprinkle with sugar.  Bake for 15-20 minutes or until scones are golden-brown.

*Alternately, the scone dough can be mixed, shaped, and then frozen in an airtight container until ready to bake.  I made these on a Sunday and froze them until the morning of my tea party, which was on a Friday.  You can just pop the frozen scones into the oven, (same temperature) and bake for an additional 3-5 minutes or until browned.

(Recipe adapted from Brown Eyed Baker, originally from Hershey’s)

Leave a Reply

